atheism.davidrand.ca: Living Without Religion 
 > Table of Contents 
 > > Repertory 
 > > >  Charles Taylor and the Templeton Prize   en français 

Has the Templeton Prize Compromised Charles Taylor?

David Rand

The news media hailed the awarding of the Templeton Prize to philosopher Charles Taylor.
But just who is behind the Templeton Prize?
What does it mean and why was it awarded to Taylor?

This is an English translation of an article published in Cité laïque, number 9 (summer 2007), humanist review of the Quebec Secular Movement (Mouvement laïque québécois, MLQ)

2007-09-26



Introduction


Charles Taylor, Canadian philosopher at Northwestern University, Illinois, USA, and formerly at McGill University in Montreal, is the recipient of the 2007 Templeton Prize. He is the first Canadian to be awarded this very generous prize whose monetary value this year is 800,000 pounds sterling (almost CDN$1,900,000). The Prize is awarded annually to an individual who has contributed to "progress toward research or discoveries about spiritual realities."

The Quebec and Canadian media very warmly welcomed this event, giving the impression that the Prize's purpose is to reward academic excellence, similar to the Nobel Prize but with the addition of a "spiritual" dimension. In the 15 March 2007 issue of the Montreal daily Le Devoir, Guy Laforest wrote, "The announcement comes to us like the springtime sun which warms our hearts: philosopher Charles Taylor has just received the Templeton Prize for the superior moral and spiritual quality of his life's work." According to radio host Michael Enright (The Sunday Edition, CBC, 8 April 2007), Taylor hit the "academic jack-pot."

This event was all the more remarkable because of its timing, occurring only weeks after the same Charles Taylor was named copresident of a Quebec parliamentary commission – the Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d'accommodements reliées aux différences culturelles (consultative commission on the practice of accommodations based on cultural differences) – whose mandate is to study the issue of so-called "reasonable" (mainly religious) accommodations and make recommendations. The Commission is slated to submit its findings in 2008.

What is the true value of a prize? Not its monetary value, but rather its "moral" value so to speak, an indicator of the merit of the individual whose receives it. One way to measure this value would be to consider the avowed goal of the prize, the nature of the institution which awards it, and the various individuals who have received the award in the past and why they were chosen.



The Purpose of the Templeton Prize


According to the Foundation's web site [1], the Templeton Prize promotes progress in the field of religion. Just as, within the last two centuries, major progress has been made in the fields of "food, travel, medicine or electronics, and cosmology," Templeton fosters the idea of devoting more resources to research into "spiritual realities" in order to "accelerate progress in spiritual discoveries."

The goal, as stated on the web site of the Templeton Prize itself [2], is to "expand human perceptions of divinity and to help in the acceleration of divine creativity," and to use various means, in particular scientific research, to "help people see the infinity of the Universal Spirit still creating the galaxies and all living things and the variety of ways in which the Creator is revealing himself to different people. We hope all religions may become more dynamic and inspirational." The Prize is purportedly awarded without regard to "race, creed, sex, or geographical background."



The John Templeton Foundation


The Foundation was established in 1987 by John Templeton, a businessman and British subject, originally from the USA, born in 1912, who became very wealthy through the management of international mutual funds. The Foundation awards numerous prizes and grants – especially for projects which obscure the line between science and religion – of which the Templeton Prize is only the most important. Several examples selected from the Foundation's principal themes are listed in Appendix I.

In response to the question "Is the Foundation a religious organization?" the FAQ of the Foundation's web site answers, "No. We do not engage in religious advocacy. We support scientific research and related cutting-edge scholarship on life's big questions." The Foundation claims not to support "intelligent design" (ID) which it considers to be a political movement whereas the Foundation is a "non-political entity." Nevertheless, the Foundation's attitude toward this pseudoscience remains ambiguous. Although it rejects "research or programs that deny large areas of well-documented scientific knowledge" such as the evolution of species, the Foundation encourages debate about ID, enthusiastically promotes a rapprochement between science and religion, and suggests that the study of the history of life on earth may eventually reveal cosmic – even divine – purpose and design. According to the Foundation, the science underlying ID is not "sound"; however, the scientific consensus is that ID does not even have the merit of being false, because it is not a scientific hypothesis at all but rather a religious assertion disguised as science.

This ambivalence is reminiscent of the pseudo-evolutionist position adopted by the Vatican which, while recognizing the validity of the evolution of species, solidly supported by science, nevertheless maintains that a creator initiated and guided this process. This is known as "evolutionistic creationism."

The current chairman and president of the John Templeton Foundation is the founder's eldest son John M. Templeton Jr., M.D., an evangelistic Christian and chairman of Let Freedom Ring[3], an organisation of the American right which supported George W. Bush's re-election in 2004.



Former Recipients of the Templeton Prize


The first recipient of the Templeton Prize, in 1973, was the very controversial Mother Teresa, veritable icon of Christian charity. According to some, including Pope John-Paul II who beatified her in 2003, she had the qualities of a saint. According to journalist Christopher Hitchens, author of The Missionary Position[4], she was a Catholic fundamentalist whose highest priority was the propagation of her faith and her own reputation and who, in propagating them, did more harm than good.

An examination of the list of the other recipients of the Prize is also revealing. See Appendix II. Most recipients are either scientists promoting a rapprochement between science and religion, or preachers, especially Christian.



Charles Taylor, Templeton Prize 2007


Charles Taylor is a renowned Catholic philosopher, born in Montreal in 1931 and author of several important works such as Hegel, Sources of the Self: The Making of the Modern Identity and Varieties of Religion Today: William James Revisited. He has been honoured with several distinctions including the famous Rhodes scholarship (1952) from Oxford University, the Marianist Award (1997) from the University of Dayton (one of the most important Catholic universities in the USA), and the title of Grand Officier awarded by the Ordre national du Québec (2000). In the 1960s, Taylor was on four occasions a federal candidate for the New Democratic Party, although he did not win. He has also counselled Pope John-Paul II as a participant of the Club of Castel Gandolfo, the pope's summer residence.

Taylor has stated that he plans to use the funds from his Templeton Prize "to advance his studies of the relationship of language and linguistic meaning to art and theology and to developing new concepts of relating human sciences with biological sciences."[5]

As a moderate Christian, Taylor of course disapproves of religious fundamentalism. However he reserves his fiercist criticism for secularism which would exclude religion from the public sphere, and spirituality from science. Thus, modernity must include a "spiritual dimension" and to neglect this dimension is harmful for society. Accordingly, Taylor claims that the rationalism of the Enlightenment sought to expunge morality and spirituality as quaintly anachronistic. [5] One thus recognizes in Taylor's attitude the classic prejudice of the believer who cannot conceive of any idea of morality not based on supernatural belief.

In an interview [6] given in November 2006 to the Italian daily La Repubblica, Taylor explains how it is possible, in his opinion, to transcend tribal conflicts: "it is a religious vision, ... , because we are all children of God, and ... there is that universal vision which, in this case, has profoundly Christian roots." This is a rather curious interpretation of history. Was not Christianity, like other religions, more often a cause of conflict rather than a solution? Has not the struggle for universal values – human rights, equality, fundamental freedoms – been fought, in numerous eras, against the assiduous resistance of religious authorities? If each human being is, in Taylor's world-view, a "child of God", what then of non-believers who do not recognize the existence of his hypothetical "God"? Are they excluded from that lovely family?

In recent interviews, Taylor has shown himself to be particularly annoyed by the ideas of Richard Dawkins, author of The God Delusion. Dawkins observes that the religiosity of moderate believers serves to legitimize the faith of fundamentalists, because both share the same theistic ideology, even though they may interpret that theism in different ways. In an interview [7] transcribed on the web site of the Templeton Foundation, Taylor, in an attempt to refute this very reasonable observation, makes use of the tired old cliché associating atheism with communist totalitarianism, as if the totalitarians and Dawkins were motivated by a common ideology.



Summing Up


The predominant theme in all these considerations is not so much science as it is theological pseudoscience. The Templeton Foundation claims to be apolitical and not to promote religion. However, it is obvious that this Foundation does indeed promote theology, and does so among scientists in particular.

In the discourse of the Foundation and the Prize, one reads numerous references to moral qualities such as love, forgiveness, etc. and also frequent mention of divinity, creation, "universal spirit" and so on, which apparently are supposed to be the wellspring of the aforementioned moral qualities. Again, one recognizes – as with Taylor – what could be called deistic creationism or creationism of morality, the unscientific principle at the heart of theism and deism which holds that morality is of divine origin. According to this principle, that it is the "Creator" who originally created moral principles. The scientific approach to the question would, on the contrary, be to look for the origins of human morality precisely where it manifests itself: among humans themselves, in the evolution of human behaviours and societies. But the Foundation takes no apparent interest in this line of research.

To summarize, one can say that the Templeton Foundation funds scientific research oriented by religious propaganda. In the activities supported by the Foundation, there are repeated examples of blurring the distinction between science and theology. It is difficult to see how an individual like Mother Teresa, who explained the pain of terminal cancer as Jesus' kisses, or Charles W. Colson and other preachers who received the Templeton Prize, could be considered contributors to science -- which the Templeton Prize claims to support. It is clear that academic excellence is not the Prize's first priority.

To the extent that the Prize can be considered an academic award, philosopher Charles Taylor is better qualified that many of the other recipients. But even in the case of Taylor, the theological aspect is central, even aggravated by a certain atheophobia. He is a friend of religion, but not of secularism.

The claim that the Templeton Prize is awarded without discrimination based on religious belief appears incompatible with the Prize's avowed purpose, its declared goals being strong imbued with theism or at least deism. The Foundation could easily make a major step in the direction of resolving this apparent contradiction by following the very pertinent advice of Harold Kroto, Nobel laureate for chemistry in 1996, that the next Prize be awarded to Richard Dawkins.



Implications for Secularism


These two almost simultaneous events – the nomination of Charles Taylor to the parliamentary commission established to study religious accommodations, and the awarding of the Templeton Prize to the same individual – can only be disconcerting for anyone who recognizes the importance of secularism.

Indeed, this commission has the mandate to outline and define the question of religious accommodations, to heed the opinions of the Quebec population on the topic, and finally to formulate recommendations to the provincial government with the aim of ensuring that such accommodations will in future respect the common values of Quebeckers. The commission must therefore provide the government with an answer to the pivotal question: Are religious accommodations admissible or not, and to what extent? The stakes are high indeed.

The decree which created the commission declares, near its very beginning, that church/state separation is one of the fundamental values of Quebec society. Secularism is thus among the highest priorities of the commission's mandate. Taylor has a decidedly multiculturalist vision of society, which would imply an approach more communitarian than secular. More than just another believer, Taylor has acquired, by virtue of his various writings and activities, the status of Catholic spokesperson. His opinions concerning the place of religion in modern society lead in an antisecular direction. And he has just been awarded a very generous grant from a foundation notorious for pushing theology among scientists. The implications for secularism in Quebec are not encouraging.



Conclusion


Some might say: Where is the problem? Public funds are not involved here. Let John Templeton give away his money to whomever he pleases! But when the sum of money is considerable, when the beneficiary of that sum plays a major role of public interest, influential for future legislation and for the future of secularism, and when, furthermore, both the donor and recipient are well known for their proreligious and implicitly antisecular orientation, then indeed there is a problem. There is reason to be concerned.

In fact, one might reasonably ask whether Taylor is not in conflict of interest. In my opinion, Charles Taylor has the ethical duty to resign from the Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d'accommodements reliées aux différences culturelles, and Quebec Prime Minister Jean Charest has a duty to request his resignation.



Appendix I: Some Grants And Prizes Offered by the John Templeton Foundation




Appendix II: Some Former Recipients of the Templeton Prize




References


  1. .John Templeton Foundation
  2. .The Templeton Prize
  3. .Let Freedom Ring
  4. .Christopher Hitchens, The Missionary Position: Mother Teresa in Theory and Practice, Verso, 1997
  5. .Biography of Charles Taylor on the web site of the Templeton Prize
  6. .La modestie de provincialiser l'Europe, interview (in French) with Charles Taylor in the Italian daily La Repubblica
  7. .Interview with Dr. Charles Taylor on the web site of the Templeton Foundation


XHTML CSS

atheism.davidrand.ca : Vivre sans religion 
 > Table des matières 
 > > Répertoire 
 > > >  Charles Taylor et le Prix Templeton ?   in English 

Charles Taylor est-il compromis avec le Prix Templeton ?

David Rand

Les médias ont salué l'obtention du prix Templeton par le philosophe Charles Taylor. Mais qui est derrière ce prix ? Que signifie-t-il et pourquoi a-t-il été décerné à Charles Taylor? Voici les réponses troublantes trouvées par David Rand.

Ce texte a paru dans le revue Cité laïque, numéro 9, été 2007, revue du Mouvement laïque québécois (MLQ).

2013-08-22



Qui est Charles Taylor ?


Charles Taylor, philosophe canadien à la Northwestern University en Illinois, USA, et anciennement à l'Université McGill à Montréal, est récipiendaire du Prix Templeton 2007. Il est le premier canadien à recevoir ce très généreux prix, dont la valeur monétaire cette année s'élève à 800 000 livres sterling (presque 1 900 000 $ canadiens). Le Prix est accordé annuellement à un individu ayant contribué au « progrès de la recherche et de la découverte dans le domaine des réalités spirituelles. »

Les médias québécois et canadiens ont très chaleureusement accueilli cette nouvelle, donnant l'impression que ce Prix Templeton serait un prix d'excellence académique, comme le Prix Nobel, avec l'ajout d'une dimension « spirituelle ». Dans Le Devoir du 15 mars 2007, Guy Laforest écrit: « La nouvelle nous arrive comme ce soleil du printemps qui réchauffe nos coeurs: le philosophe Charles Taylor vient de recevoir le prix Templeton pour les hautes qualités morales et spirituelles de l'ensemble de son oeuvre. » Selon l'animateur de radio Michael Enright (The Sunday Edition, CBC, 8 avril 2007), Taylor a gagné le « gros lot académique ».

Cet événement fut d'autant plus remarquable qu'il est survenu quelques semaines seulement après la nomination du même Charles Taylor à la coprésidence d'une commission parlementaire québécoise – la Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d'accommodements reliées aux différences culturelles -- ayant le mandat d'étudier le dossier des accommodements dits « raisonnables » (religieux pour la plupart) et de faire des recommendations. La Commission devra rendre son rapport en 2008.

Que vaut un prix? On ne parle pas ici de sa valeur monétaire, mais plutôt de sa valeur « morale », pour ainsi dire, un indicateur du mérite de l'individu qui le reçoit. Une façon de mesurer cette valeur serait de considérer le but déclaré du prix, la nature de l'instance qui l'octroie, et l'ensemble des individus qui se sont vus octroyer le prix dans le passé, et pourquoi ils ont été choisis.



Le but du Prix Templeton


Selon son site web [1], le Prix Templeton favorise le progrès en matière de religion. Tout comme, dans les derniers siècles, des progrès majeurs ont été réalisés en production alimentaire, dans les transports, en médecine, en électronique et en cosmologie, Templeton préconise la recherche et le progrès en « réalités spirituelles » et en « information spirituelle ».

L'objectif [2] serait d'accroître la « perception humaine de la divinité », d'accélérer la « créativité divine » et d'utiliser divers moyens, en particulier la recherche scientifique, afin d'aider les gens à voir « l'infinité de l'Esprit Universel qui crée toujours et actuellement les galaxies et tout être vivant » et à voir « les diverses façons dont le Créateur se révèle ». Le Prix serait accordé sans distinction de race, de croyance, de sexe ou de situation géographique.



La Fondation John Templeton


Cette fondation a été établie en 1987 par John Templeton, homme d'affaires et citoyen britannique d'origine américaine, né en 1912, qui s'est enrichi grâce à la gestion de fonds mutuels internationaux. La Fondation attribue de nombreux prix et bourses – surtout pour des projets qui brouillent la ligne entre science et religion --, dont le Prix Templeton n'est que le plus important. Quelques exemples, pigés dans les thèmes principaux de la Fondation, sont signalés dans l'appendice I.

À la question « La Fondation est-elle un organisme religieux? », la FAQ du site web répond ainsi: « Non, nous ne faisons pas la promotion de la religion. Nous appuyons la recherche scientifique... » La Fondation se défend d'avoir des liens étroits avec le mouvement « intelligent design » (ID), qu'elle considère un mouvement politique, tandis que la Fondation est une « entité apolitique. » Mais l'attitude de la Fondation à l'égard de cette pseudoscience demeure ambigüe. Bien que rejetant toute hypothèse qui nierait des faits solidement établis par la science, comme l'évolution des espèces, la Fondation favorise le débat autour de l'ID, prône avec enthousiasme le rapprochement entre science et religion, et suggère que l'étude de l'histoire de la vie sur terre pourrait révéler une finalité et un dessein cosmiques, voire divins. Selon la Fondation, la science soutenant l'ID n'est pas solide (« sound »), tandis que le consensus scientifique est que l'ID n'a même pas le mérite d'être faux, car il n'est pas une hypothèse scientifique mais plutôt une assertion religieuse déguisée en science.

Cette ambivalence ressemble beaucoup à la position pseudo-évolutionniste du Vatican, qui, d'un côté, reconnaît la validité de l'évolution des espèces, solidement appuyée par la science, mais qui maintient tout de même qu'un créateur aurait mis en branle et guidé ce processus. C'est ce qu'on appelle le « créationnisme évolutionniste ».

La Fondation est actuellement gérée par le fils John M. Templeton, chrétien évangélique et chef de Let Freedom Ring[3], un organisme de la droite américaine.



Les anciens récipiendaires


La première récipiendaire du Prix Templeton, en 1973, fut la très controversée Mère Teresa, véritable icône de la charité chrétienne. Selon certains, y compris le pape Jean-Paul II qui l'a béatifiée en 2003, elle mériterait la qualification de sainte. Selon le journaliste Christopher Hitchens, auteur du Mythe de Mère Teresa[4], elle était une intégriste catholique dont la plus haute priorité était la propagation de sa foi et de son image, et qui, en les propageant, faisait plus de mal que de bien. La lecture de la liste des autres récipiendaires du Prix Templeton est aussi révélatrice (voir l'appendice II). La plupart de ces récipiendaires sont soit des scientifiques prônant un rapprochement entre science et religion, soit des prédicateurs, chrétiens surtout.



Charles Taylor, récipiendaire 2007


Charles Taylor est philosophe catholique renommé, né à Montréal en 1931, auteur de plusieurs ouvrages dont Hegel, Sources of the Self et Varieties of Religion Today: William James Revisited. Il est récipiendaire de plusieurs distinctions dont la célèbre bourse Rhodes de l'Université Oxford (1952), conférencier marianiste (1997) à l'University of Dayton, une des plus importantes universités catholiques américaines, et le titre de Grand Officier de l'Ordre national du Québec (2000). Il a été quatre fois candidat néo-démocrate (sans gagner) aux élections fédérales dans les années 1960. Il a aussi conseillé le pape Jean-Paul II au sein du Club de Castel Gandolfo, là où le pape a sa résidence d’été.

Taylor compte utiliser l'argent du Prix dans la poursuite de ses études du rapport entre le langage et le sens linguistique d'un côté, et l'art et la théologie de l'autre, et dans le développement de liens entre sciences humaines et biologiques. [5]

En tant que chrétien modéré, Taylor désapprouve bien sûr les intégrismes religieux. Mais il critique encore davantage le sécularisme qui exclurait la religion de la sphère publique, et la spiritualité de la science. Pour lui, la modernité doit englober la « dimension spirituelle » et le fait d'ignorer cette dimension serait dommageable pour la société. Selon Taylor, le rationalisme des Lumières voulait évacuer la morale et la spiritualité comme vétustes et anachroniques. [5] On lui reconnaît donc ce préjugé classique du croyant incapable de concevoir la moralité sans croyance surnaturelle.

Dans une entrevue[6] accordée en novembre 2006 au quotidien italien La Repubblica, Taylor explique comment il est possible, selon lui, de transcender les conflits tribaux: « c’est une vision religieuse, [...] parce que nous sommes tous des enfants de Dieu, et [...] il y a cette vision universaliste qui a, en l’occurrence, des bases profondément chrétiennes ». Voilà une interprétation bien curieuse de l'histoire. Le christianisme, comme les autres religions, n'a-t-il pas été bien davantage cause de conflits que solution? La recherche de valeurs universelles – de droits humains, d'égalité, de libertés –, ne s'est-elle pas faite à chaque époque contre la résistance assidue des autorités religieuses? Si chaque humain était, selon Taylor, un « enfant de Dieu », que dirait-il des incroyants qui ne reconnaissent pas l'existence de son dieu hypothétique? Sont-il exclus de cette belle famille?

Dans des entrevues récentes, Taylor est particulièrement contrarié par les propos de Richard Dawkins, auteur de The God Delusion. Dawkins constate que la religiosité des croyants modérés sert à légitimer la foi des intégristes, étant donné qu'ils partagent la même idéologie théiste, même si les deux camps ne l'interprètent pas nécessairement de la même manière. Dans une entrevue transcrite [7] sur le site de la Fondation, pour contrer cette observation fort raisonnable, Taylor sort le vieux canard associant l'athéisme avec le totalitarisme communiste, comme si les totalitaires et Dawkins s'inspiraient d'une idéologie commune.



Le bilan


Le thème prédominant que l'on constate dans l'ensemble de ces considérations est la pseudoscience théologique bien plus que la science. La fondation Templeton se réclame d’être apolitique et de ne pas faire de prosélitisme religieux. Pourtant, il est évident que cette Fondation promeut la théologie, et ce, en particulier chez les scientifiques.

Dans le discours de la Fondation et du Prix, il y a de multiples références à des qualités morales comme l'amour et le pardon et aussi de nombreuses mentions de la divinité, de la création, de « l'Esprit Universel » et ainsi de suite, qui seraient apparemment derrière ces qualités morales. On reconnaît ici -- tout comme chez Taylor -- ce qu'on peut appeler le créationnisme déiste ou créationnisme de la morale, le principe anti-scientifique au coeur du théisme et du déisme, selon lequel la morale serait d'origine divine, c'est-à-dire que c'est le « Créateur » qui aurait créé les principes moraux. L'approche scientifique serait de chercher les origines de la morale humaine là où elle se manifeste, chez l'humain, dans l'évolution de ses comportements et de ses sociétés. Mais la Fondation ne s'y intéresse apparemment pas.

Pour résumer, on peut dire que la Fondation Templeton finance la recherche orientée par la propagande religieuse. Dans les activités financées par la Fondation, on constate de nombreux exemples d'embrouillement de la démarcation entre science et théologie. On voit mal comment un individu comme Mère Teresa, qui expliquait la douleur du cancer en phase terminale par des baisers de Jésus, ou Charles W. Colson et les autres prédicateurs récipiendaires du Prix, auraient pu contribuer à la science que le Prix Templeton prétend promouvoir. De toute évidence, l'excellence académique n'est pas sa première préoccupation.

Dans la mesure où le Prix peut être assimilé à un prix académique, le philosophe Charles Taylor est mieux qualifié que bon nombre des anciens récipiendaires. Mais chez Taylor aussi, l'aspect théologique est très fort, et même rehaussé d'une athéophobie marquée. C'est un ami des religions, mais pas un ami de la laïcité.

La prétention d'attribuer le Prix Templeton sans distinction de croyance paraît incompatible avec son but déclaré, cette déclaration étant fortement imbue de théisme, ou du moins de déisme. La Fondation pourrait facilement faire un pas important vers la résolution de cette contradiction en suivant le très pertinent conseil de Harold Kroto, lauréat Nobel en chimie en 1996, que le prochain Prix soit accordé à Richard Dawkins.



Implications pour la laïcité


Ces deux événements presque simultanés – la nomination de Charles Taylor à la commission parlementaire chargée d'étudier les accommodements religieux, et l'octroi du Prix Templeton au même individu – ne peuvent qu'être inquiétants pour ceux et celles qui reconnaissent l'importance de la laïcité.

En effet, cette commission aura le mandat de bien définir la question des accommodements religieux, sonder les opinions de la population québécoise, et finalement de formuler « des recommandations au gouvernement afin que les pratiques d'accommodements soient respectueuses des valeurs communes des Québécois ». Cette commission dira donc au gouvernement si les accommodements religieux sont recevables ou non, et dans quelle mesure. Les enjeux sont majeurs.

Dans le décret de création de la commission, on lit au tout début qu'une des valeurs fondamentales de la société québécoise est « la séparation de l'Église et de l'État ». La laïcité est donc parmi les plus hautes priorités du mandat de cette commission. Taylor a une vision plutôt multiculturaliste, ce qui laisse présager une approche plus communautariste que laïque. Bien plus qu'un simple croyant, il a acquis, de par ses travaux et activités, le statut de porte-parole catholique. Ses opinions concernant la place de la religion dans la société moderne implique une position antilaïque. Et il vient de recevoir une immense bourse d'une Fondation notoire pour sa promotion de la théologie en milieu scientifique. Les implications pour la laïcité au Québec ne sont pas reluisantes.



Conclusion


Où est le problème? diront certains. Il ne s'agit pas de fonds publics. Que John Templeton donne son argent à qui il veut! Mais lorsque la somme est considérable, que le bénéficiaire de cette somme joue un rôle important d'intérêt public et influent au niveau des lois et de la laïcité, et, qu'en plus, le donateur et le bénéficiaire sont reconnus pour leurs orientations proreligieuses et implicitement antilaïques, il y a effectivement lieu de s'inquiéter.

Il y a lieu aussi de demander si Taylor n'est pas dans une position de conflit d'intérêts. À mon avis, Charles Taylor a le devoir éthique de démissionner de la Commission de consultation sur les pratiques d'accommodements reliées aux différences culturelles, et le premier ministre Jean Charest a le devoir de lui demander cette démission.



Appendice I : Quelques bourses et prix offerts par la Fondation John Templeton




Appendice II : Quelques anciens récipiendaires du Prix Templeton




Références


  1. .John Templeton Foundation
  2. .The Templeton Prize
  3. .Let Freedom Ring
  4. .Christopher Hitchens, Le Mythe de Mère Teresa, version française de The Missionary Position, Verso, 1997
  5. .biographie de Charles Taylor sur le site du Prix Templeton
  6. .La modestie de provincialiser l'Europe, entrevue avec Charles Taylor dans le quotidien italien La Repubblica
  7. .Entrevue avec Charles Taylor sur le site de la Fondation Templeton


XHTML CSS